Week 3: Finish! Sherry in Beijing

So, on the day everyone went to the 798 district, I was feeling dizzy so I decided to opt out and rest. My day consisted of my sleeping until 11am and then eating lunch with another member of the “sick” club 😦 Luckily, we rested well for the culture night! It was unbelievable fun! We ate a mix of western and chinese food and got a bunch of cool performances from students from all places. We found that there were students from Texas also studying abroad! We learned to dance and play fun games. It was a blast!

The next day, we went to a market. Kevin took us and we shopped for a little under 2 hours. It was cute market area by Houhai. There were little shops that sold food and trinkets, and I really enjoyed it! My best buy was definitely the cream puff! It was delicious! It was chocolate cream puff with green tea filling! That night, one of the students, Logan, and I were placed to a Chinese family. They took us to bird’s nest, where the 2008 Olympics were held, and we went home with them. They taught us to make dumplings and feed us to much. We also got to play ping pong with two kids.

Finally, our last “planned” day came upon us. Our whole trip came to this day when we would present on our experiment with the BNU student.  I was was in group 3 which was the final group presentation. It was fun and a relief for that to be over. Afterwards, Emily, my roomie and group member, and I treated ourselves to udon and rested. That night we went to a vegetarian restaurant, which was so good! Fake meat is yummy!! Earlier that week, people told the professor good deeds others had done for them, and the professor mentioned who had been talked about the most. When he said my name, I was so shocked that everyone had mentioned me and he gave me a really beautiful framed art. It was the first time for me to receive something like this so it was a really heart-warming moment for me.

Then, it was our last full day, a free day! I went a few others to Beihai, which another park-lake. We rented a lotus boat and I had so much fun! We wrangled up some final gifts for our professors and GSIs. We had dinner that night with the BNU staff and students. It was buffet-style and so delicious! After the dinner, we sat at a group as Michigan students and did paper plate awards, while giving the gifts everyone had pitched in for. I got MVP, and it was a nice moment to see how a group for 16 students had come together.

The next morning, we said our final goodbyes, as most everyone was heading back to the US. I hung out with another student who was catching a later flight, and then moped around in someone’s room who was still sleeping until my cousin called me. My next adventure: family time in Beijing for the next two week. See you later~ (photos will be uploaded soon!!)

Leave a Reply

