Stand in Solidarity. (Aren in Peru)

If someone were to ask me to describe this past week using only one word, I would respond with the word “solidarity”. This past week we’ve had the opportunity to stand in solidarity with the people of Peru while working, hearing stories, laughing, learning to dance, and entering the homes to learn from their wisdom. Each new encounter or experience that I have empowers me. Before I came on this trip I was concerned with what I could offer to the people of Peru. However, I have found that I have experienced so much growth from letting my fears fly away and stepping out of my comfort zone.  I feel so fortunate to have this opportunity to grow. Here are a few pictures that help describe some of my experiences.

image1

This picture was taken during a water and light show that told the history of Lima, Peru.

image2

In the city of El Carmen we heard Afroperuvian music and dance by one of the most influential families.

image4

We had the opportunity to visit a Hacienda in San José, where we learned about the history and hardships of the slaves that were forced to work and live here.

image5

The Cathedral of Lima, which was one of my historical sites we have visited in Lima.

image6

We had the privilege to work with Martin, a man who saves abandoned dogs and gives them a home.

For more information on the CGIS: Global Intercultural Experience for Undergraduates  in Lima, Peru visit the MCompass program page.

Leave a Reply

